May 27th

By: thesouvenirbox

May 27 2010

Category: Inspiration

13 Comments

 Bardot in Blue~ It’s one of my favorite blogs and probably one of the the best ones out there. Because I love it so much, I decided to interview the lovely girl behind this wonderful blog. Haleigh is one of those girls you wish was your best friend, she’s incredibly sweet, pretty, has an amazing sense for fashion and impeckable writing skills. She lives in Paris where she has just gratuated The American University of Paris and I’m sure that she’ll have a fantasic future! Read her once and fall in love!

 

First, tell us a little bit more about yourself:

I am a 100% American girl from California living in Paris for the last two years and founder of the blog Bardot in Blue, recently graduated from university. I am day dreamer that often feels a bit tied down in the crazy work world! 

What propelled you to start blogging? 

I always enjoyed reading other people’s blogs and I realized that each and everyone of us has something special to share with the world. I feel so lucky to live here in Paris and even though there are so many blogs about the city, each and everyone one of us sees Paris through different eyes and create a unique experience. Some people out there in the world want to belittle blogging, I think they just don’t get it. It is a natural human characteristic to want to share with others and I really wanted to share my experiences with others in the same way I have been inspired by so many blogs out there. 

I also think that its really easy to miss all the simple things in life that make it so beautiful. I love capturing the small sweet things that we all too often never see and keeping them in one place forever in the cyber world. 

What inspires you?

The city of Paris definitely inspires me, that is why I moved here. I never really had this dream in my heart that I would come here and make a life, it’s something that I just sort of decided one year and made it happen, and it turned out to be the perfect thing for me. I spent a few weeks here before, and getting lost in the magic of the city from all of its great landmarks to the tiny details just made me feel like infinite possibilities awaited me here. 

Esthetically I am inspired by all things gorgeous, antique, and magical. I love old world opulance and glamour from clothing to decor…think Versailles and other royal European courts. I am also really inspired by magic and mythical creatures. I want to believe that these extraordinary things exist all around us.   

All your clothes are so fantastic, who are your style icons and favorite designers?

I love all things girlie and pretty! I appreciate lots of styles but for myself I always stick to feminine frocks. My favorite designers are Miu Miu and Manoush, I love how they aren’t afraid to use lots of colors and add quirky details. I mix a lot of these and other designer items with vintage and thrift pieces to make sure that my look is always unique. I also have a really bad habit of buying things that I know I won’t wear much just because they are so pretty or cute I want to admire them in my closet! I always purchase really special items, which actually makes it hard to get dressed because I have no basics in my wardrobe! My style changes so much from day to day though, and that’s one of my favorite things about it, it just wear what I like 😀

My style icons are of course amazing beautiful classic movie stars like Brigitte Bardot  and Marilyn Monroe. In terms of modern fashionistas I am always incredibly inspired by Diane Kruger exquisite taste as well as Chloe Sevigny’s avante garde but always chic style. 

Most beloved item in your closet?

My most beloved item in my closet is my Chanel 2.55 chain caviar leather purse in nude. It also happens to be the most expensive item but definitely one of the best investments I have ever made. My jewelry is really sentimental to me to as I have inherited a lot of it from my grandmothers, mom, and family friends. 

Where should we shop, drink and eat in Paris?

There is so much to see in Paris it always hard to pick a definitive list, especially when I am finding new great things all the time. Here is my short list that really changes from week to week!

Merci (3eme arrondissment) shop + eat – they have a delicious cantine with seasonal foods and amazing home style desserts! You can lunch in their library or next to the garden. On top of that after lunch you can shop the amazing boutique that is a mix of vintage and new clothes, or the home store with unique high design items imported from all over the world. From the minute you walk in your know its special because there is an adorable vintage mini cooper with plants growing out of it. 

The Marais (4eme and 3eme) – this is my hood! I spent most of my days here as it is where I have always lived. It is always lively and there is a great mix of contemporary, vintage, and thrift stores along with all the restaurants you could ever need. On top of that there are a dozen or so adorable little parks you can stop in at to relax. 

Montmartre (18eme) – I really love getting lost in Montmartre, especially explore Rue de Trois Freres and Rue de la Vieuville that have some great little stores, restaurants, and bars. Although there are many other great streets in this neighborhood. There are so many adorable eclectic things in Montmarte, not to mention the amazing view from the Sacre Couer. At sunset I love to go to L’étage on Rue de Trois Freres for a take out Mojito and bring it up to Le Sacre Coeur and watch the sunset. Relais de la Butte is also another great place with an large patio where you can watch the sunset over Paris with a lovely view. 

Check out my Paris guide for more of my suggestions! 

What’s the most wonderful place in Paris to you? 

My favorite places in Paris change from season to season….

Fall – Bois de Boulogne is magnificent in the fall. Here you can see all the leaves falling to the ground in an array of oranges and reds and float along the little streams. It is great for autumn strolls.

Winter – Place de La Concorde with the giant ferris wheel from which you can overlook the amazing Christmas lights of the Champs Elysees. 

Spring – The Champs de Mars in front of the Eiffel tower is my favorite place in the Spring. As the cold thaws away my friend and I start spending afternoons on the grass with bottles of wine and some music enjoying the warmer weather and making our summer plans. 

Summer – in the summer I always feel drawn to the East of Paris. In the east everything is a bit edgier and I enjoy exploring this part of Paris. This would include the Canal Saint Martin with Bloody Mary’s at places like Chez Prune or afternoon s at the Butte de Chamont in the 19eme working on oil pastel projects while sunbathing. 

If you’d have the whole day free, what do you do you do with your time?

I would do anything and everything I always want to do in Paris and never get the chance to because I am working or studying.  

If you could be any famous girl, who would you like to be? Why?

This is a tough one! I know she is not that famous but Joanna Newsom. She is so beautiful, she looks like a magical forest nymph and she has amazing style that is quirky and cute but always cool. More importantly she is so creative, original, and talented in her music and just an overall great spirit!

Name 5 of your favorite things.

baby animals

flowers

plush beds

falling in love

dancing like nobody is watching

 

Don’t you just adore her? Thank you, Haleigh!

We love you.

Is there anything you’d like to say this great girl?

13 comments on “May 27th”

  1. […] utterly adorable Miss Daphne of The Souvenir Box recently asked me if I would do an interview for her blog to inaugurate the new design and new […]

  2. […] By The Souvenir Box […]

  3. Thanks for this lovely interview with Haleigh
    i love her blog too, kat xox

  4. I am so happy to have stumbled upon your blog!

  5. Great interview! Haleigh is truly blessed to have the opportunity to live in Paris. I can only imagine how this experience will change her life forever!
    Thanks, Haleigh, for sharing your experiences in Paris with us!

  6. Love, love, love Haleigh! Her blog is amazing and I adore every new post!!! WHat a wonderful interview and such a charming subject 🙂
    xoxo
    Judith~

  7. I am a fan of Bardot in Blue too….love her take on life and her photographs…xv

  8. I adore her! I just “discovered” her blog two weeks ago and I check it daily for new posts. I’m mexican, and I adore vintage clothes, furniture, etc. All mixed with today’s glamour.
    I actually just made an inspiration wall in my room, and printed different pictures from her blog.
    Great interview and great blog!
    Kisses from Mexico.

  9. Great interview. Oooohhhh I love this girl and everything about her…and I would even if I were not her MOM. So great to discover your wonderful blog…I have enjoyed my visit here.

    ~jermaine~

  10. Great interview, very sweet. Adore Barbot in Blues blog as well !

  11. I enjoyed reading this interview. It was great. Interesting questions. I knew Haleigh’s blog from before and wished I would know her personally, because I think she is a very sympathetic and sweet person. Thanks to her I was introduced to your blog. I was checking it out a little bit and like it. Will keep reading it, through Bloglovin’! ^^

    xoxo Sandra
    http://glamirrorous.com

  12. fantastic interview , love your questions

  13. thank you so much for doing this interview with me!!! I really enjoyed it it especially writing it for someone as sweet and creative as you! I can’t wait to share your new blog with everyone in my next post!

    xoxo Haleigh


Leave a Reply

